shutterstock_506137015.jpg

Theme:

Mobilize Higher Education Establishments  

Higher education establishments, whether Francophone or Anglophone, are one of the pillars of our social and economic development. We firmly believe that these institutions’ vitality is beneficial to Quebec as a whole and that they have an essential role to play in the promotion and protection of our official language.  

The presence of the English language, particularly in terms of academic publications, must be balanced with our responsibility to ensure that Quebecers can undertake higher studies in French, including by prioritizing access to French-language learning materials.

We believe that higher learning establishments, Francophone and Anglophone alike, need to be active partners in the promotion and protection of the French language. It is important to give them all the room they need to manoeuvre in this regard. Our approach reflects the importance of these institutions’ contributions to the vitality of our common language.

We therefore propose to:

15

Financially support CEGEPs and universities to allow them to offer free French courses on campus to all students who want to perfect their command of the language;

16

Enhance the number of courses offered in French at Anglophone colleges. This course offer should not be limited to second language French classes, but be encouraged through offering at least three courses in French within each program of study;

17

Offer students enrolled in Anglophone establishments the opportunity of developing French immersion cultural exchange programs or internships in Francophone communities;   

18

Ensure that Quebecers from English-speaking communities have access to Anglophone CEGEPs; 

19

Maintain the current number of full-time equivalent students in English-language CEGEPs.

 

The proposals we are advancing are the result of thorough reflection following several consultations.

In order to undertake this process, we first identified the fundamental principles that should guide us. It was important for us to identify the foundations upon which all Quebecers of all origins could readily unite and rally.

shutterstock_506137015.jpg

Thème :

Mobiliser les établissements d’enseignement supérieur

Les établissements d’enseignement supérieur, qu’ils soient francophones ou anglophones, sont l’un des piliers de notre développement social et économique. Nous croyons fermement que la vitalité de ces institutions est bénéfique pour tout le Québec et qu’elles ont un rôle essentiel à jouer dans la promotion et la protection de notre langue officielle.

La présence de la langue anglaise, notamment au chapitre des publications universitaires, se doit d’être mise en équilibre avec notre responsabilité de s’assurer que les Québécois peuvent poursuivre des études supérieures en français, notamment en priorisant l’accès au matériel didactique en langue française.

Nous croyons que les établissements d’enseignement supérieur, francophones et anglophones, doivent être des partenaires actifs en matière de promotion et de protection de la langue française. Il est important de leur donner toute la marge de manœuvre nécessaire en ce sens. Notre approche reflète l’importance de l’apport de ces institutions à la vitalité de notre langue commune.

Nous proposons donc :

15

De soutenir financièrement les établissements collégiaux et universitaires pour leur permettre d’offrir, sur leurs campus, des cours de français gratuits à tous les étudiantes et étudiants qui souhaitent parfaire leur maîtrise de la langue française;

16

De bonifier l’offre de cours en langue française dans les établissements collégiaux anglophones. Cette offre de cours ne devrait pas se limiter aux cours de français langue seconde, mais être encouragée en incluant au moins trois cours en français offerts dans chaque programme d’études;

17

D’offrir l’opportunité aux étudiants d’établissements anglophones de développer des programmes d’échanges culturels ou de stages d’immersion française dans les communautés francophones;

18

D’assurer l’accès des Québécoises et Québécois, issus des communautés d’expression anglaise, aux cégeps anglophones;

19

De maintenir le nombre actuel d’étudiants équivalent temps plein dans les cégeps anglophones.

 

Les propositions mises de l’avant ont fait l’objet d’une réflexion approfondie à la suite de plusieurs consultations.

Pour nous engager dans cette démarche, nous avons d’abord identifié les principes fondamentaux qui devaient nous guider. Pour nous, c’était nécessaire d’identifier les assises autour desquelles l’ensemble des Québécoises et Québécois, de toutes les origines, peut aisément s’unir et se rallier.