shutterstock_1697002396.jpg

Theme:

An Exemplary State

If we want society to truly feel compelled by the promotion and protection of the French language, it is imperative that it is able to follow the State’s example. That is articulated in the measures that it advances, whether legislative, regulatory or otherwise, but it is also incarnated in its internal actions. It must demonstrate a firm commitment and have an exemplary approach and activities as regards the promotion and protection of the French language.

Thus, we are proposing to:

01

Update the Politique linguistique du Gouvernement du Québec (Government of Quebec’s language policy) for ministries and organizations. This new policy will require mandatory training for all affected employees;

02

Modify article 88.3 of the Charter of the French Language to include an obligation for higher education establishments to provide the National Assembly with a triennial report on the application of their linguistic policies and provide a statistical portrait of the use of French within their institutions;

03

To apply article 1 of Bill 104, which seeks to set out the conditions and circumstances under which a language other than French could be used for communications with corporations and other governments. 

 

The proposals we are advancing are the result of thorough reflection following several consultations.

In order to undertake this process, we first identified the fundamental principles that should guide us. It was important for us to identify the foundations upon which all Quebecers of all origins could readily unite and rally.

shutterstock_1697002396.jpg

Thème :

L’exemplarité de l’État

Si nous souhaitons que la société se sente réellement interpellée dans la promotion et la protection de la langue française, il est primordial qu’elle puisse s’appuyer sur l’exemple de l’État. Cette exemplarité s’articule dans les mesures qu’il met de l’avant, soit législatives, règlementaires, ou autres, mais aussi dans ses actions internes. L’État doit démontrer un engagement fort et avoir une démarche et des activités exemplaires à l’égard de la promotion et de la protection de la langue française.

Ainsi, nous proposons :

01

De mettre à jour la Politique linguistique du Gouvernement du Québec pour les ministères et organismes. Cette nouvelle politique devra obligatoirement faire l’objet d’une formation pour tous les employés concernés;

02

De modifier l’article 88.3 de la Charte de la langue française afin de prévoir l’obligation pour les établissements d’enseignement supérieur de rendre compte, aux trois ans, à l’Assemblée nationale, de l’application de leurs politiques linguistiques et de dresser un portrait statistique de l’utilisation du français au sein de leur institution;

03

D’appliquer l’article 1 de la loi 104 qui vise à baliser les conditions et les circonstances où une autre langue que le français peut être utilisée dans les communications avec les personnes morales et les autres gouvernements.

 

Les propositions mises de l’avant ont fait l’objet d’une réflexion approfondie à la suite de plusieurs consultations.

Pour nous engager dans cette démarche, nous avons d’abord identifié les principes fondamentaux qui devaient nous guider. Pour nous, c’était nécessaire d’identifier les assises autour desquelles l’ensemble des Québécoises et Québécois, de toutes les origines, peut aisément s’unir et se rallier.