To ensure that government actions are more cohesive, we believe that it is high time that we modernize the governance of the organizations responsible for applying the Charter of the French Language and for monitoring the linguistic situation.  

 

Implemented in 2002, the current structure has significant shortcomings. The Office Québécois de la Langue Française (OQLF) has become a superstructure with sometimes contradictory roles of monitoring the language situation and sometimes monitoring the law’s application, in addition to processing complaints. For its part, the Conseil Supérieur à la Langue Française has been stripped of its essence and its resources, and can no longer adequately play the role for which it was created, that of advising the Minister.  

To ensure better organization as well a more efficiency among institutions, we propose abolishing these organizations and replacing them by:

04

The creation of the position of an independent French Language Commissioner appointed by the National Assembly. The Commissioner’s mandate would be to annually report on the status of the French language with the help of studies and analyses, as well as report on public language policies, including those of ministries and organizations;

05

The establishment of the Office de Protection et de Valorisation de la Langue Française (Office for the Protection and Promotion of the French Language) would have a clearer, more coherent role. It would take the existing OQLF resources, including the regional satellite offices, under its wing, but would also have a more proactive presence in the field. In collaboration with partners, it would need to intensify and diversify its actions to promote and protect the French language. Toponymy, officializing terminology and applying the law, which includes processing complaints, would all fall under its purview. For this vision to be carried out, the Office would be endowed with a Board of Directors to ensure renewed, more transparent governance. 
 

 

The proposals we are advancing are the result of thorough reflection following several consultations.

In order to undertake this process, we first identified the fundamental principles that should guide us. It was important for us to identify the foundations upon which all Quebecers of all origins could readily unite and rally.

Pour assurer une meilleure cohésion de l’action gouvernementale, nous croyons qu’il est grand temps de moderniser la gouvernance des organismes responsables de l’application de la Charte de la langue française et de suivi de la situation linguistique.

 

Mise en place en 2002, la structure actuelle souffre d’importantes lacunes. L’OQLF est devenu une superstructure avec des rôles parfois contradictoires de suivi de la situation linguistique, parfois de veille de l’application de la loi, en plus du traitement des plaintes. De son côté, le Conseil supérieur à la langue française est dépouillé de son essence et de ses ressources, et ne peut plus jouer adéquatement le rôle pour lequel il a été créé, soit celui de conseiller le ministre.

Afin d’assurer une meilleure organisation, mais aussi une plus grande efficience entre les instances, nous proposons d’abolir ces organismes et de les remplacer par :

04

La création d’un poste de Commissaire à langue française indépendant, nommé par l’Assemblée nationale. Celui-ci aurait pour mandat de faire rapport annuellement, à l’aide d’études et d’analyses, de l’état de la langue française, ainsi que de faire rapport sur les politiques linguistiques publiques, notamment celles des ministères et organismes ;

05

La mise en place de l’Office de protection et de valorisation de la langue française. Ce nouvel office, qui remplacerait l’OQLF, aurait un rôle plus clair et plus cohérent. Il reprendrait, sous son aile, les ressources existantes de l’OQLF, incluant les antennes régionales, mais aurait une présence plus proactive sur le terrain. En collaboration avec les partenaires, il devrait intensifier et diversifier les actions de promotion et de protection de la langue française. Il aurait sous sa responsabilité la toponymie, l’officialisation des terminologies et l’application de la loi, ce qui inclura le traitement des plaintes. Pour mener à bien cette vision, l’Office serait doté d’un conseil d’administration pour en assurer une gouvernance renouvelée et plus transparente.

 

Les propositions mises de l’avant ont fait l’objet d’une réflexion approfondie à la suite de plusieurs consultations.

Pour nous engager dans cette démarche, nous avons d’abord identifié les principes fondamentaux qui devaient nous guider. Pour nous, c’était nécessaire d’identifier les assises autour desquelles l’ensemble des Québécoises et Québécois, de toutes les origines, peut aisément s’unir et se rallier.