shutterstock_1422390752.jpg

Theme:

French in the Workplace

Two recent studies from the Office Québécois de la Langue Française have shown that English is becoming more and more present in Quebec’s workplaces. Indeed, 53.3% of workers now exclusively use French on the Island of Montreal, this proportion is 75.7% on the North and South Shores and 85.6% in the rest of Quebec.

We are therefore proposing to:

20

Apply the provisions of the Charter of the French Language to enterprises under federal jurisdiction;

21

Review article 46 of the Charter of the French Language to better define the requirements for hiring in a language other than French, in particular by specifying the principle of necessity;

22

Accompany companies with 25 to 49 employees in their francization with a streamlined, adapted approach to the application of the provisions of the Charter of the French Language in order to take into account the size and resources of these businesses. 

 

The proposals we are advancing are the result of thorough reflection following several consultations.

In order to undertake this process, we first identified the fundamental principles that should guide us. It was important for us to identify the foundations upon which all Quebecers of all origins could readily unite and rally.

shutterstock_1422390752.jpg

Thème :

Le français et les milieux de travail

Deux récentes études de l’OQLF démontrent que l’anglais est de plus en plus présent dans les milieux de travail du Québec. En effet, les travailleurs qui utilisent exclusivement le français sont maintenant au nombre de 53,3 % sur l’île de Montréal, cette proportion passe à 75,7 % dans sa couronne et à 85,6 % pour le reste du Québec.

Nous proposons donc :

20

D’appliquer aux entreprises de compétence fédérale les dispositions de la Charte de la langue française;

21

De revoir l’article 46 de la Charte de la langue française afin de mieux baliser les exigences d’une autre langue que le français à l’embauche, notamment en précisant le principe de nécessité;

22

D’accompagner dans leur francisation les entreprises de 25 à 49 employés, avec une approche allégée et adaptée d’application aux dispositions de la Charte de la langue française, et ce, afin de tenir compte de la taille et des ressources de ces entreprises.

 

Les propositions mises de l’avant ont fait l’objet d’une réflexion approfondie à la suite de plusieurs consultations.

Pour nous engager dans cette démarche, nous avons d’abord identifié les principes fondamentaux qui devaient nous guider. Pour nous, c’était nécessaire d’identifier les assises autour desquelles l’ensemble des Québécoises et Québécois, de toutes les origines, peut aisément s’unir et se rallier.