shutterstock_156329441.jpg

5 Fundamental Principles

The proposals we are advancing are the result of thorough reflection following several consultations. In order to undertake this process, we first identified the fundamental principles that should guide us. It was important for us to identify the foundations upon which all Quebecers of all origins could readily unite and rally.

01

Principe_01.png

The first fundamental principle is the inalienable right to work in French.

We have a historic responsibility to Quebecers to always ensure that the wealth of professional opportunities are made accessible to them in French. Of course, mastering several languages adds to our collective wealth, but it should not be required except in limited and justified situations. Recent reports from the Office Québécois de la Langue Française on businesses’ language requirements on the workforce remind us of our duty to be vigilant so as to avoid the exception slowing becoming the rule.  

02

Principe_02.png

The second principle is that of Quebecers’ shared responsibility to ensure the vitality of French in Quebec.

A society is made up of individuals and a language that lives through its speakers. Our collective responsibility regarding the status of French in Quebec must also be rooted in our individual actions. The government of Quebec is responsible for ensuring that the French language flourishes by providing Quebecers with the tools they need to master and showcase it, and ensure that it holds a central place in our collective life.

03

Principe_03.png

The quality of our language, both spoken and written, is the third principle for which no effort should be spared.

We must collectively invest in our mastery of French. We are immersed in a world where English takes up so much space in several spheres of our daily lives, including through the multiplication of new technologies. It is paramount that we ensure that our collective vocabulary is enriched by French equivalents to the new realities that are emerging and that we cultivate pride in and the learning of a language that is well spoken and well written.  

04

Principe_04.png

The fourth principle is that of partnering with English-speaking communities.

We must work hand in hand, not in opposition. The English-speaking communities have rights that need to be protected. Access to public services in English for those Quebec citizens cannot be a threat to the status of French in Quebec.   Indeed, Quebec has English-speaking communities that are deep-rooted and that contribute to our collective wealth. Their attachment to this land of Quebec cannot be called into question, nor can the relevance of their presence here. They are Quebecers in their own right, and are marked by the same sense of collective pride that is shared by all those who call Quebec their home.  

05

Principe_05.png

The fifth principle lies in students having the freedom to choose their institution of higher learning.

Attendance by Allophones at French language CEGEPs has increased steadily over the years, from 25.1% in 1985, to 57.9% in 2015. While Francophone college institutions remain very attractive due to the quality of their programs and their teaching, Anglophone institutions are attractive as well, in particular for their pre-university programs. We must preserve the balance between access to these institutions for the English-speaking community and the possibility of Francophones attending the establishment of their choosing, in compliance with admission requirements for the programs sought.

These five principles guide the Liberal Party’s proposals on language.

They are essential to rallying our society around the fundamental cause of preserving and promoting our French language. Together, let’s take action for French so that we can hand future generations a society that beats to the rhythm of a strong, vigorous French language with an accent that is all our own.

shutterstock_156329441.jpg

5 principes fondamentaux

Les propositions mises de l’avant ont fait l’objet d’une réflexion approfondie à la suite de plusieurs consultations. Pour nous engager dans cette démarche, nous avons d’abord identifié les principes fondamentaux qui devaient nous guider. Pour nous, c’était nécessaire d’identifier les assises autour desquelles l’ensemble des Québécoises et Québécois, de toutes les origines, peut aisément s’unir et se rallier.

01

Principe_01.png

Le premier principe fondamental est le droit inaliénable de travailler en français.

Nous avons la responsabilité historique, envers les Québécoises et Québécois, de toujours veiller à ce que le plein éventail des possibilités en matière professionnelle leur soit rendu accessible en français. Certes, la maîtrise de plusieurs langues ajoute à notre richesse collective, mais elle ne devrait être requise que dans des situations circonscrites et justifiées. Les récents rapports de l’Office québécois de la langue française (OQLF) sur les exigences linguistiques des entreprises sur le marché du travail nous rappellent notre devoir de vigilance afin d’éviter que l’exception ne devienne tranquillement la règle.

02

Principe_02.png

Le deuxième principe est celui de la responsabilité partagée de tous les Québécois de veiller à la vitalité du français au Québec.

Une collectivité est composée d’individus et une langue vit par ses locuteurs. Notre responsabilité collective quant à la situation du français au Québec doit aussi s’ancrer dans nos actions individuelles. Le gouvernement du Québec a la responsabilité de veiller à l’épanouissement de la langue française en fournissant aux Québécoises et Québécois tous les outils nécessaires pour la maîtriser, la faire rayonner et lui assurer une place centrale dans notre vie collective.

03

Principe_03.png

La qualité de notre langue, autant parlée qu’écrite, est le troisième principe qui ne saurait souffrir d’aucune économie.

Nous devons collectivement investir dans notre maîtrise du français. Nous baignons dans un monde où l’anglais prend beaucoup d’espace dans plusieurs sphères de notre quotidien, notamment par la multiplication des nouvelles technologies. Il est primordial de veiller à ce que notre vocabulaire collectif s’enrichisse d’équivalents français aux nouvelles réalités qui émergent et de cultiver la fierté et l’apprentissage d’une langue bien parlée et bien écrite.

04

Principe_04.png

Le quatrième principe est celui du partenariat avec les communautés d’expression anglaise.

Nous devons travailler main dans la main, non pas en confrontation. Les communautés d’expression anglaise ont des droits qu’il faut protéger. L’accès à des services publics en anglais pour ces citoyens québécois ne saurait être une menace à la situation du français au Québec. En effet, le Québec compte des communautés d’expression anglaise dont les racines sont profondes, et qui contribuent à notre prospérité collective. Leur attachement à cette terre du Québec ne saurait être remis en doute, tout comme la pertinence de leur présence. Ils sont Québécois à part entière et sont empreints de la même fierté collective que partagent tous ceux qui appellent le Québec, leur maison.

05

Principe_05.png

Le cinquième principe réside dans le libre choix pour les étudiantes et étudiants de leur établissement d’enseignement supérieur.

La fréquentation par les allophones des cégeps francophones n’a cessé d’augmenter à travers les années, passant de 25,1 % en 1985 à 57,9 % en 2015. Bien que les établissements collégiaux francophones demeurent très attractifs, par la qualité de leurs programmes et de leurs enseignements, les établissements anglophones le sont tout autant, notamment pour les programmes préuniversitaires. Nous devons préserver l’équilibre entre l’accessibilité pour la communauté anglophone à ses institutions, et la possibilité pour les francophones de fréquenter l’établissement de leur choix, dans le respect des exigences d’admission aux programmes convoités.

Ces cinq principes guident les propositions libérales en matière de langue.

Ils sont essentiels pour le ralliement de notre société autour de la cause fondamentale qu’est la préservation et la promotion de notre langue française. Ensemble, agissons pour le français afin de léguer aux générations futures une société battant au rythme d’une langue française forte et vigoureuse, aux accents bien de chez nous.