shutterstock_1209708244.jpg

Theme:

Montreal and the French Language

The vitality of the French language in Montreal has been making headlines for months now, mainly in regards to the language in which people are welcomed and served. The statistics prove it; it is in Montreal that the French language is most significantly undermined. An OQLF study revealed that close to a quarter of the population mainly uses English in public and that the proportion of businesses that welcome their clientele in French has gone from 84.2% in 2010, to 74.6% in 2017.

The City of Montreal in fact launched its very first Plan en matière de la valorisation de la langue française, to address this issue and bolster francization efforts. A broad consensus for taking action is emerging in economic, social and political sectors. All agree on the necessity of working in collaboration with socio-economic partners in order to generalize the presence and use of French, in particular in Montreal’s tourism and commercial downtown area, and to more effectively support francization efforts.  

We therefore propose to:

06

Ensure the vitality of French, by giving Montreal’s tourism and commercial downtown area back its strength, image and French accent, including through supporting specific measures to welcome and serve in French; 

07

Create a team dedicated to the promotion, support and francization of businesses in Montreal’s downtown area, in collaboration with the city and the business sector; 

08

To support and further encourage initiatives like the J’apprends le français, Le français, ça compte! and Réussir le virage numérique de ma petite entreprise programs in partnership with the Chamber of Commerce of Metropolitan Montreal, which aims to support French-language learning in small businesses.  

 

By deploying efforts of this nature, we believe that we can change the image of the downtown area and, at the same time, support our metropolis’ economic vitality.  

Moreover, given that Montreal is world renowned as one of the best student cities on the planet, it attracts an enormous number of students from all across the globe. This pool of international students offers a unique opportunity for Quebec to position itself as a welcoming, French-speaking land, but also satisfy our significant workforce needs. However, if we hope to increase retention among these students at the end of their studies, we have to allow them to master the French language and work in French. Currently, students who want to further their knowledge of the French language have to study independently and at their own cost at the campus they attend, or take classes that are less adapted to their pedagogical or geographic situation.

We therefore propose to:

09

Deploy satellites of the Ministry of Immigration, Francization and Integration on each of Montreal’s university campuses. With free service that is readily available at their place of study, we will be promoting international students’ efforts in francization and integration, as well as their socio-cultural knowledge of Quebec.  

The proposals we are advancing are the result of thorough reflection following several consultations.

In order to undertake this process, we first identified the fundamental principles that should guide us. It was important for us to identify the foundations upon which all Quebecers of all origins could readily unite and rally.

shutterstock_1209708244.jpg

Thème :

Montréal et la langue française

Depuis plusieurs mois, la vitalité de la langue française à Montréal fait les manchettes, principalement quant à la langue d’accueil et à la langue de service. Les statistiques le démontrent : c’est à Montréal que la langue française est le plus considérablement mise à mal. Une étude de l’OQLF révèle que près du quart de la population utilise principalement l’anglais dans l’espace public et que la langue d’accueil en français dans les commerces est passé de 84,2 % en 2010 à 74,6 % en 2017.

La Ville de Montréal a d’ailleurs lancé son tout premier Plan en matière de la valorisation de la langue française afin de répondre en partie à cette problématique et d’accentuer les efforts de francisation. Un large consensus se dessine au sein des milieux économique, social et politique pour agir. Tous s’entendent sur la nécessité de travailler en collaboration avec les partenaires socioéconomiques afin de généraliser la présence et l’utilisation du français, en particulier dans le centre-ville commercial et touristique de Montréal, et de soutenir plus efficacement les efforts de francisation.

Nous proposons donc :

06

D’assurer la vitalité du français, en redonnant au centre-ville commercial et touristique de Montréal sa force, son image et son accent francophone, notamment en soutenant des mesures spécifiques d’accueil et de services en français;

07

De créer une équipe dévouée à la promotion, au soutien et à la francisation des commerces du centre-ville de Montréal, en collaboration avec la ville et le milieu des affaires;

08

De soutenir et d’inciter davantage d’initiatives comme les programmes J’apprends le français et Le français, ça compte! Réussir le virage numérique de ma petite entreprise en partenariat avec la Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain, qui visent le soutien et l’apprentissage du français dans les petites entreprises.

 

En déployant des efforts de cette nature, nous croyons que nous pourrons changer l’image du centre-ville, tout en soutenant le dynamisme économique de notre métropole.

De plus, Montréal étant reconnue mondialement comme l’une des meilleures villes étudiantes au monde, elle attire énormément d’étudiantes et d’étudiants qui proviennent de partout sur la planète. Ce bassin d’étudiants internationaux représente une occasion unique pour le Québec de se positionner comme terre d’accueil en français, mais aussi de pourvoir à nos besoins importants de main-d’œuvre. Cependant, si l’on espère augmenter la rétention de ces étudiants à la fin de leurs études, il faut leur permettre de maîtriser le français et de travailler en français. Présentement, les étudiants qui souhaitent approfondir leur connaissance de la langue française doivent eux-mêmes suivre des cours à leurs frais sur le campus qu’ils fréquentent ou encore suivre des cours moins adaptés à leur situation pédagogique ou géographique.

Nous proposons donc de :

09

Déployer, sur tous les campus universitaires de Montréal, des antennes du ministère de l’Immigration, de la Francisation et de l’Intégration. Avec un service gratuit, disponible directement sur le lieu d’études, nous favoriserons les efforts de francisation, d’intégration et de connaissance socioculturelle du Québec des étudiants internationaux.

Les propositions mises de l’avant ont fait l’objet d’une réflexion approfondie à la suite de plusieurs consultations.

Pour nous engager dans cette démarche, nous avons d’abord identifié les principes fondamentaux qui devaient nous guider. Pour nous, c’était nécessaire d’identifier les assises autour desquelles l’ensemble des Québécoises et Québécois, de toutes les origines, peut aisément s’unir et se rallier.